Thank you for your votes and comments on this feature. The team is in the process of finalizing designs for deleting private chat threads. I will update as we have more progress to share.
Thank you for your feedback! The team has reviewed this request and has added it to our backlog for both Standard (Public) to Private and Private to Standard (Public) channel conversion. We will share an update as soon as it’s available.
Updating the status to “Try this instead” and have added the clarification that after 30 days the name is once again available.
The reason for this decision was that Channels can be restored 30 days after being deleted. During this time, we intentionally don’t support creating a channel with the same name. After the 30 days, the name is available.
You can workaround this by restoring a deleted channel, renaming it, and then deleting the channel again. The previous name is then available for use.
This workaround has already been mentioned in the comments and if an immediate reuse of a Channel Name is required, this is the recommended solution.
An error occurred while saving the commentAnonymous commented
I can't believe this has so few votes!
Adding Guests to a Team is fine, but the ability to add a Guest to a Team and limit their access to only a specific Channel would be very helpful, that would reduce the need to multiple Teams just to allow Guest access when working in collaboration with a vendor. e.g. A Team is set-up for a specific technical project/programme, all internal contributors and project members have full access to the Team, the vendor needs access for certain elements so post those elements in a particular channel and give the vendor Guest access to the channel only. Sort of like a Private channel in reverse.