Updating the status to “Try this instead” and have added the clarification that after 30 days the name is once again available.
The reason for this decision was that Channels can be restored 30 days after being deleted. During this time, we intentionally don’t support creating a channel with the same name. After the 30 days, the name is available.
You can workaround this by restoring a deleted channel, renaming it, and then deleting the channel again. The previous name is then available for use.
This workaround has already been mentioned in the comments and if an immediate reuse of a Channel Name is required, this is the recommended solution.
It is great that Private Channels is now done however we still can't use it as we have many external users that need to join in on some of these channels and currently that can't be done unless I add them to the team... something I obviously don't want to do as these external users will get a lot more access they shouldn't have.
Anyway great steps with regards to the private channel setup but I hope that this task is also done as it is 100% needed for external users
This feature request is still in the works. I hope to have more updates soon. I’ll keep you posted.
@warren, the last update we had on this was back in July 2018. Can you please give us another update?
Slack is a truly huge platform. Tons of our external company users make use of Slack so having a plugin where we can use Teams and the external company users use Slack to communicate would be fantastic.
Please check “Teams/Skype Consumer chat and calling interop” on the public roadmap at microsoft.com/microsoft-365/roadmap?filters.. for updates.