Updating the status to “Try this instead” and have added the clarification that after 30 days the name is once again available.
The reason for this decision was that Channels can be restored 30 days after being deleted. During this time, we intentionally don’t support creating a channel with the same name. After the 30 days, the name is available.
You can workaround this by restoring a deleted channel, renaming it, and then deleting the channel again. The previous name is then available for use.
This workaround has already been mentioned in the comments and if an immediate reuse of a Channel Name is required, this is the recommended solution.
Please fix this ASAP. Users with elevated rights create problems you should be aware of. You leave non-tech managers with no ability to name channels the way they wish. Tech staff are hands tied.
Good news, this feature is partially done. :)
Planner tasks can now be copied to other plans. To copy a task, click on the “…” menu on the task. From there, you can select a different plan to copy the task to.
This is still being worked upon. I hope to have more details in the next couple months.
Please know the team is actively working on this feature.
This is very important. People who've known Outlook Tasks and iPhone reminders over task with little things in planner, don't get line items in Planner and don't know to follow up on small line items in Planner. Many of my dept manager level users feel feel like Planner is an island they don't under stand if their iPhone doesn't remind them.