Configure Meeting link to expire immediately after meeting ends
After hosting a Teams meeting, the link does not expire, it is available up to 60 days after the meeting occurred. Anyone can join this meeting afterwards.
Students join the meeting/class with the links of cancelled meeting and a lot of confusion is created . Once the meeting is cancelled , the meeting link should automatically expire.
Need an immediate resolution to this for education sector under Teams A1 and Teams A3 plan
As i know you can disable viewing record of meeting after event under setting, so if any external person has a link they cannot see your event, they will see message 'On-demand viewing isn't available for this live event. Please contact the organizer to view the recording.'
I would prefer to implement an option to define expire date or that meetings expire generally when meeting is finished. 60 days is to long. I want to prevent external meeting visitors to open an older meeting.
I think this is a security issue and an open door for abuse.
The link should expire after the meeting.
Office 365 Japan Support Team commented
*English follows Japanese
As there are users who join meetings by mistake due to the fact that meetings can be joined before the starting time, we hope that meetings can be made so that nobody can join before a certain time before the starting time.
Configure Meeting link to expire immediately after meeting ends. It is quite surprising that a meeting stays on calendar for 60 days. Oh God.. if I wish to continue an older meeting, I can reschedule a new one with same title. You must take off this feature
Anyone knows if microsoft is working on it?. I didn't see anything on roadmaps
+1 Yes this feature is a true security hole. For example if by default you haven't changed the ability to allow anonymous guests to wait in the lobby they can take full advantage of your expired meeting.
also another example is students who can find a link can use it as a platform to have private messaging. when they have had these settings disabled.
In addition I understand that the host is notified but the notification isnt good enough. It would be much simpler to give the additional option to be able to start and stop the meetings and allow these settings to be configured at the creation of the meeting.