Teams Bug - When tenant admin deletes a user, a notification is displayed that the team owner deleted the user. This is not correct.
When a tenant admin removes a user from Office365, the user is also removed from all groups obviously. This triggers a notification in Teams saying that the user has been removed from the team. The notification wrongly says that the team owner (or one of the team owners) deleted the user from the team. This is not correct, and causes the team owners to think that their account has been compromised.
A better way to handle this event is just a simple email to the team owners, or at least an option to disable said notifications. In any case, if a notification is sent, the information displayed must be correct. Using the team owner is not correct.
Abhinab Das commented
The issue has been observed in our Tenant as well. When a user is removed from AD, soon after in any team channel we see that a message pops up saying "The Team owner say-XYZ removed ABC"
Noticed today that it said "Microsoft Teams AadSync" rather than the team owner.
sally lim commented
Alternatively, just display that the deleted user has left the Teams group. Please improve this.