Warning Message for Deleting a Team
Please integrate a pop-up message when an owner tries to delete a Team. In an education setting, sometimes administration and teachers are transferred from one school site to another. We have seen multiple occasions where an owner will transfer to another school site and they will delete a Team thinking that they are deleting the Team from their Team list. As you can imagine, this can cause many issues and some downtime until the Team can be restored. Perhaps in the pop-up their can be some verbiage similar to: "Deleting "Team name" will delete all material and all other owners and members of Team "Team name" will no longer have access to "Team name"."
Malcolm Wilson commented
There have been a number of instances of co-owner staff of a class team inadvertently deleting a team, on the assumption they are simply removing themselves from being able to access it where their role has changed and they no longer need access. The option for archiving a team is no longer in that top level menu and instead appears only when going to the "Join or create a team" menu. It might be better if the "delete a team" feature likewise went to this same section so that that extra step makes it less likely to accidentally delete a team - as well as also having a popup warning saying that deleting the team will delete it and make it unavailable for all members of the team
E. Bijland commented
Good idea; such a notification is very recommended
Ideally, this should not even be possible. If at all only owners of teams should be allowed to delete Teams.
In case I have just been added as an admin I should ONLY be able to leave the team but not delete it.
Better even have three sections instead of just two - admin, moderator, student.
It would be nice if the other owners would also get a notification that the team has been deleted.
Tim Pattison commented
I would add that as well as a notification, the team creator should be able to set a password to avoid a team being deleted. Often the creator will be a senior school leader and they can use the password judiciously to stop this the deletes mentioned by the contributors from happening.
We are currently experiencing teachers at our school district accidently deleting their Team ,thinking it might remove it from their Teams list. They are unaware they are actually deleting it for all users inside the Teams. Can a notification be made available.