Delete past Team chats in chat mode (both sender and receiver chats).
Chats should not be never-ending storage of a chat, and we should be able to delete individual chats as instructors or keep them ( both the sender and receiver chat). I realize we can delete our own, but we need the option to delete both our own as well as the students. We should have that option.
Thank you for your feedback. The team is finalizing designs for deleting private chat threads. We will share an update as soon as one is available.
To follow updates in the public forum, please see https://microsoftteams.uservoice.com/forums/555103/suggestions/33535006
I wholeheartedly support archive option or some feature that allows teacher messages to be easily seen. Due to Covid-19, we are using Teams for school learning at home days. A massive list of messages is not focused, difficult to identify pertinent messages and assignments from the teacher, and does not support clear communication.
I never delete organizational exchanges that we go back to see decisions, rationale, etc. But I agree with other commenters about archiving. That would be perfect.
Les Clensy commented
I have used Teams for the whole year and will be soon starting new groups/teams. I would like to delete all the previous chats so that I can keep the files and folders I have painstakingly set up for each group (rather than delete the whole team and start again).
It is a bizarre policy that an Owner/Teacher cannot delete or archive previous chats.
I believe they do not have this problem in google classroom. Maybe I should try that!
Inappropriate to delete, but it would be great if they could be archived in an 'archive' folder
Only owners should be able.I still agree saying that!
My students get confused with the never-ending lines of chat. It makes it hard for them to focus on what is current. I need to be able to "clean up" for my student sp they can more easily access relevant material.
I agree! it gets confusing for some students when the communication is cluttered.
samantha harriy commented
no i dissagry
Scott Friend commented
If you can not delete it just clutters up communication and makes is so you don't want to use it.