Feature to disable message/notification "User Joined/User has been removed" in Org-Wide Teams.
Can this be implemented please as some leavers need to be hidden from everyone to see as everytime a user is disabled in AD this is replicated in the org-wide team as it directly syncs up. It's a real pain, surely there can be a way to suppress this, even so it's just owners who see this?
Please implement ASAP. In a world of turmoil and people having to be laid off, HR decisions should not be announced via Teams Notifications. DO YOU READ THESE MESSAGES? This is absolutely brutal and you need to give admins some options!!!!!!!!
Marian B. commented
Very useful. Please add this option to be able to turn it on or off per channel or orgwide. As Kristie mentioned, form an HR/Legal point of view this option should be available.
This is really offputting and counterproductive. Please remove it. Thanks. Stay well.
Kristie Garner commented
This has HR/Legal implications as it provides termination visibility for LDAP organizational system removals in Teams groups in which employees belong. Currently, these group removals are also attributed to Teams group owners automatically, which shows against their employee log files for actions they did not perform, which is a security and compliance concern.
This function needs to be invisible to all but team owners. It also does not need to be attributed to a group owner, but rather to a system admin account. Additionally, corporate system administration groups should have administration rights to manage this on behalf of their organization through sys admin accounts with logs for IT personnel movement and the ability to notify according to specific employee sys admin accounts or noted as general "Admin" movement as the IT group prefers.
This dev should have been vetted better before implementation to ensure legal and compliance needs for users were met.
Rob Siklos commented
This is a major privacy concern. If a user is a member of a team, and they are removed from the Team - due to disable or deletion of account - all members will see the notification of the user being removed.
This is a problem. The user could be removed for a number of confidential reasons such as immediate dismissal or garden leave. Users will see the member has left the team and will put two and two together.
Additionally, seeing members leave a team could be demoralising, especially concerning tragic circumstances i.e. death of staff. It creates unnecessary awkwardness.
Jennie Morris commented
And it bolds the team name as though there's content there to see, which is a red herring for most users if the only change is people added or deleted.