Stop Teams eligibility criteria removing blocked accounts from teams
When an account is blocked for sign in within the Admin portal, it is currently removed from the Teams the account is part of leaving a message in the General channel to this affect! The account is not removed from the underlying Group so removing the account from the Team is not only inconsistent, it creates a significant issue for us as we'll temporarily block accounts for a range of security reasons. Messages to team members that '*** has been removed from the Team' are incredibly unhelpful and cause damage to relationships within the organisation. Please fix this design flaw and stop blocked accounts from being removed from the Team and definitely stop the status change message within the General channel.
Michelle Baker commented
Please fix this Microsoft. I had spent A LOT of time creating groups within my classes at college and then find this week that students could not connect with each other because of this bug. This is extremely annoying and needs to be fixed. Pronto!!!
Marie-Claude Saulnier commented
Microsoft has changed the display behaviour. We no longer see the message that "*** has been removed from the Team" in the General channel. However, the deactivated user is still being removed from the Team (after 24h) without removing the person from the underlying Office 365 Group. This is indeed inconsistent, but there are more problems with this behaviour.
- We have 10000 student accounts; each a student is a member of about 5-10 Teams. When the accounts are reactivated, they are automatically added back to the Teams. This operation lasted up to 48h in our case. When classes have to be taught this is a huge problem.
- When the user is added back to the Team, he is no longer in his private channel. The teacher (owner) has to add them back all manually.
- If a tag was added to the user, it is also lost and has to be added back again
- When trying to reach a user via Chat, it sometimes shows that the user only has Skype even though they had previously written to that user. This solved itself, but again, it took almost 48h in our case.
- It also seems that our students with ongoing Assignements lost the work on their saved unsubmitted Assignements. Some even say they cannot see previously submitted and corrected Assignements.
- Deleted users that were reactivated now show up has "Unknow users"... so now students don't know who are writing to who...
The students could not access their Teams for 24 to 48 hours and had to wait for their teacher to add them back to their private channels in order to access their work documents stored in the files. You can imagine how many people created support tickets in a panic asking what happened to their Teams and teachers were unable to communicate with their students.
Users with a disabled account should NOT be removed from Teams. We should be able to disable an account without any effect when it is reactivated. If I want my user to leave all his Teams, I will delete the account or remove him manually...
This is a nightmare!!!!!!!
PS: I don't think private channels were available (or widely used) when this UserVoice was created.
M Azharuddin commented
Not a good design decision. Specially when "Privacy" is at core.
1. Block must not remove users as they are still licensed
2. Block is removing users then why random owner blamed for the same
3. Block is removing users then why to announce it to all members as the case can be very sensitive
4. Users still part of their group then why this strange logic to remove them from team and brag about it
This bug hits very ethics.
Sanjay Dhingra commented
A simple default behaviour would be to hide notifications for "members" of a team and only show it for "owners
Just like CS said, our termed users are AD Disabled, ends up showing as removed from the team, this has a negative impact on moral when there are headcount reductions. Also the message in the team comes from an owner even though they didnt remove them.
This is particularly problematic when accounts are disabled as part of employee departure when it hasn't yet been communicated to the business
Adam Schwartz commented
This is similar to: https://microsoftteams.uservoice.com/forums/555103-public/suggestions/35515990-users-added-to-team-line-removed
Some movement on this from Microsoft would be terrific!
Richard Irwin commented
This is a straight up bug! And those messages to the General channel are a problem as well
Note block via Azure AD Connect has some effect. If a disabled user is enabled again a second notification announces their return to the Team. We are especially worried about this where we have Teams with external users (e.g. clients) seeing such notifications.