Enable recovery of deleted Planner Tabs in MS Teams
If you create a Planner tab in Microsoft Teams from an existing plan and then delete the plan, there is no way to recover the plan at all. This has already resulted in my lost work for our users. A change is required to allow recovery of plans deleted in error via Microsoft Teams.
Steve Else commented
Fix required ASAP as other Users are reluctant to use this feature.
Favor prever contar un un backup para la aplicación planner del Teams ya que es importante que los usuarios puedan tener respaldo en caso de eliminación.
Scott Perley commented
I have team members reluctant to use planner unless I can ensure they can restore a plan if someone deletes it.
I found my answer here https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/admin/create-groups/restore-deleted-group?redirectSourcePath=%252fen-us%252farticle%252fRestore-a-deleted-Office-365-Group-b7c66b59-657a-4e1a-8aa0-8163b1f4eb54&view=o365-worldwide
magic link is: https://outlook.office.com/people/group/deleted
After restoring deleted group you can just go to the Planner related to the group.
The only thing missing - pictures attached to tasks, and users assigned.
Need to be able to Undo Planner deletion....tried to delete a copy and it deleted the original- lost everything.
PLEASE fix this ASAP Microsoft.. we need to be able to restore deleted Planners in case someone new to the group/ team comes in and starts clicking around. There should always be an ADMIN undo.
Same as everyone else........I copied an existing plan in order to save a few keystrokes. When I modified the "new" plan by deleting tasks that weren't applicable to the new one, it deleted all the tasks from my old plan! Trust me........it will take WAY more keystrokes to try to build the old plan again (if I can even do it!) than it would have taken to just create a new one. NOT HAPPY!
MM, I followed your steps and didn't work.
My office is moving from Teams CVR to Teams from Office 365, so I started looking at options to avoid losing what we have in Planner. I created a copy of my Plan to test it. Then I deleted the copy but it deleted all the tasks from the original Plan, this is too bad! not warning at all. I had a very detailed planned with several buckets and tasks, too bad!
I could recreate the plan but users will need to re-enter their updates. Any possibility to recover it?
It really sucks. I was trying to move a Planner from a channel to another one where I had one different planner already and all of the sudden I lost the old one. They were totally two different planners and on't know what happened. This has to be fixed.
Dee Soule commented
I'm so angry it's not even funny! First they push an update that causes problems with external users being able to access planner then they have me create a copy of my plan to test. Then they tell me to delete is without telling me it deletes the original and can't be retrieved. I'm ready to scrap the entire O365 product!
If a duplicate tab is inadvertently created and when it is deleted the prompt box is also checked it deletes the original tab as well. Being able to recover tabs falls in line with the ability that has been previously added to Teams to recover deleted plans and groups.
I was trying to copy a tab with many tasks and by mistake, I replaced the tab losing all my team tasks from that period. I could not recover the tab again. Please add undo buttons or the way to recover sections easily.
Added a new tab to planner and it wiped out the previous tab with 3 months of tasks and completed projects. No warnings, no instruction, no validation... just gone. Absolutely disgusted in teams.
Shenil Pragji commented
Restoring a lost plan is a MUST. In fact before anything is deleted a simple warning is also required. What is MS doing about this simple functionality. Not really acceptable for enterprises to operate. You need to fix this ASAP. It also contributes to confidence on how users will rate this technology.
Bob Peressini commented
The inability to save/restore plans dramatically reduces the usefulness of this tool.
I copying a plan, then deleted it and it wiped out both the new plan and the original!!!! Disaster.
Randall Thieras commented
Agree! Work lost. Please help!!!
One user on another forum had this solution for restoring a deleted Wiki
1> Open Team in Sharepoint.
2> click "Site contents" on left, then upper right hit cog "Site Settings"
3> on the left under recent, you will see an obnoxious string that looks like "19:41afbcjd8a83022zx...@thread.skype_wiki" Click that.
4> You will see a list (and it isn't pretty) of Pages & Sections. (this is really where is starts to suck). You will have to select each one ONE AT A TIME. Click on the word Page or Section.
5> a Flyout will appear from the right with deets of that object. Scroll down and look for "wikiDeleted". It should say yes. Just click on the word yes, and you can change it to no (it's slider).
6> now do this very EVERY object on that page. so you have to restore the page FIRST, then you have to go and manually change that "wikiDeleted" for each section.
7> go back and refresh the Wiki Tab and you will now see your deleted wiki entries.