Users added to team line removed
In each general channel a new line gets created for all new users added to a team. Can this line be removed?
As an example I setup a team and get some posts ready for welcome messages and introductions, then when I add groups of people, after a few lines all my messages have pushed up and off the screen.
We have one specific team for all in the business and all the threads are getting lost as we add each department/individuals one by one.
Epiq Brian commented
Actually, all of this should really go into a log of some kind accessible by team owners/admins: users added, users left, channels added, channels renamed, team/channel settings changed, etc etc
Other comparable platforms (such as discord) allow this type of admin spam to be either added to an admin log or sent to an admin-only channel.
Gotta stop this noise. Teams with high turnover make the General channel all but unusable!!
Masseeh Ghafarshad commented
This is mandatory. I am sure this is an obvious HR privacy.
I like this feature in smaller team but I aggree that you should be able to disable it.
Another option that would be great is to make it "silent" : still showing it but not having the channel behave like a new message has been posted.
This is the worst thing about the Teams tool, makes it far too busy to be used efficiently.
The Guest user information is still available even after removing a guest user from the Domain. This is by design (by Microsoft).
This is also a blatant violation of European GDPR legislation. Microsoft offers tools to comply with GDPR compliance but fails to hide such data in its own tools. It is really not opportune that employees already know the future employees and/or know who has left the company before a proper communication is possible. Surely it cannot be that the system already leaks such sensitive data.
This is by far my biggest annoyance with Teams, and it compromises the usefulness of the tool because all of this noise moves "real" conversation off the screen.
Kevin Tippett commented
This is necessary. Clutter is not communication.
We would also like an option to remove notifications if a user is added or removed from a team. This should be controllable per team, also with an ability to turn on or off globally. Thank you.
Christopher Neufeld commented
It is absolutely ridiculous that this is a platform for use in a professional environment and this setting cannot be changed. For all of the reasons listed, I am also voting for this.
I'd like for this to be changed, for similar reasons stated.
The control in these apps is what we need for many different clients.
Please, please fix this @Microsoft!
Steven V commented
This is mandatory for obvious HR privacy.
Pete Garvey commented
Microsoft, please respond to this. It's so important that we be able to control these notifications.
Greg Christensen commented
This is a privacy problem
Aaron Ott commented
A few of our clients really need this. Anytime a Teams membership adjustment is made, people are aware of the change. This is really bad for sensitive de-hiring situations where sign-in is blocked, passwords are reset, and Teams memberships need to be immediately revoked but the incident isn't ready for public knowledge. As it is, these stupid Teams membership notifications have hurt a few critical de-hirings. Microsoft Teams admins should have the ability to change user notifications or disable this on a global basis.
Thomas Amann commented
Yes if we could setup this with GPO and directly set it up when creating a new Team that would be great *Insert MEME here*
Please can we remove this ASAP!! It's very frustrating that something so simple hasn't yet been resolved. We're getting a lot of questions from end users why 'test' members have joined the org wide team.
Is it possible that something basic like this is still not resolved after more than one year?
Or maybe I am not aware?
There is no way to manage this setting properly and there is no way to remove this line either so system basically forces you to give information you don't want to give and in most of the cases you shouldn't give.
This should be optional!