Team channels can get full of distracting content. There should be a /clear command that hides all previous messages just for the current user.
Switching beween channels should unhide the messages (clicking to open a different channel and then returning to the cleared channel would show all of the messages again)
Adding to this thread, we need a way to clear a channel history otherwise the most current/top channel content won't show up on mobile devices.You only see a blank page with spinning wheel. I tested this on an iPhone and Android devices.
This is a problem.
A General channel also keeps notification messages that cannot be deleted or altered at all. It even shows the guests emails when you hover on them. No options on privacy whatsoever. I don't want everyone to know that I've deleted a channel or created a new one in the General settings. I am creating private channels for chrits sake! There is a reason why I am creating a private channel under that team.
Marc Roussel commented
I prefer the idea of clear channel completely but ask to put in history or delete forever and then the sub tree of this channel for history in which you can go find old stuff there.
Nathan Brown commented
We have two needs:
First, to be able to clear a channel when the a topic is being moved from one channel to another and we don't want users referring back to the previous channel (not even for reference).
Second, we also have Test teams used by developers and the content needs to be wiped every so often otherwise the test team is too difficult to use.
I would love this. I'm an IT trainer and I produce some how to videos for the company. It would be great to be able to clear the screen so the videos don't show previous chats. There's nothing embarrassing in it, but I just like a clean screen when recording. Right now all I can do is send enough dummy messages to push the chats off the screen.