User approval to be added to a team
Users often find themselves included in dozens of teams and overwhelmed by the volume of teams, discussions, and documents. This quickly dilutes the value of the communications and makes it easy to lose track of important collaboration. One of the key drivers of team overload is that users can be added to teams without awareness or approval. This is the "stealth team add problem."
To reduce the risk of overload and mitigate the stealth add problem, we propose a feature that gives users the option to require his or her explicit approval before being included in a team.
Brian Levenson commented
Exceptions to the rule: when added by manager, tenant admin, or enterprise-defined override