How can we make Microsoft Teams better?

10 Minute Rapid sign up

Let's suppose I am in one of the following situations:

* I'm a teacher or lecturer with a class full students.
* I'm at a conference doing a presentation

I want to create a team and add all the people as members. Which would be doable if I had a list of everyone's email. But often teachers don't have instant access to all of their students email addresses. Rarely would presenters know the emails of all the guests.

At present I could get a link for my team. Then convert that to QR code then project that on the wall or include the QR code in the presentation notes that guest pick up when entering.

The guests could then login and request access. Then one by one I could accept them.

This however is long winded, by the time I have accepted the guests, by presentation might be over.

I would like this process to be much faster and efficent. So efficient that it would probably be easier than using mailing lists to add people.

I would like to have the power as the owner of a team to create a special url and QR that has a short expiry period. When the QR code is snapped by someone they gain instant membership to the team.

I'd actually like the choice of being able to make two types of QR code. One where it will grant instant membership and the other where it will grant instant "Read Only"/Guest membership.

Now imagine when I am running my next work meeting will my colleagues, I can project on the wall a QR code and say, log on within the 10 mins and you'll get straight in.

However, as you can now imagine, on the wall, my screen is now somewhat stuck on the QR code whilst everyone gets out their phone. So my presentation is still off to a rocky start.

Which is why I'd prefer to be able to print in advance the QR code. So I can print them the day before. If someone tries to use it ahead of schedule or it could just work like a standard request for membership.

Now my presentation goes like this.