Delete Private Chat threads
This request is for the ability to completely delete a private chat thread. (Not hide/archive.)
Again, this was pulled out into its own topic because it is still under review and no decision has been made.
To recap what has already been completed from the other topic:
- Delete your own messages anywhere in Teams.
- Team Owners can choose if users can edit/delete in their tenant as well as choose if admins have the power to delete any message posted in public channels.
- The ability to hide your private chat threads (these are not the chat threads in channels, but the private chat threads that appear when you click the Chat icon on the left-side app bar).
- The ability to mute your private chat threads. (these are not the chat threads in channels, but the private chat threads that appear when you click the Chat icon on the left-side app bar).
This topic deserves consideration and separating out hot items is something we have often done. Please don't think of this as an attempt to diminish the ask, we know that many people want this.
Thank you for your understanding and feedback.
Thank you for your votes and comments on this feature. The team is in the process of finalizing designs for deleting private chat threads. I will update as we have more progress to share.
why would there not be a delete button????
most of the times, chats are for questions which dont need to be saved
its critical that there is a delete button, who wants all these chats sitting there with
Need to be able to delete old threads.
Jake Martinez commented
Please make this an option. Why would anyone have a conversation on this platform if you can't delete threads? It's lunacy.
We'd be very grateful to be able to delete messages that have been posted in the wrong conversation etc.
Any updates on this? For us, we have clients with employees in the EU and we have to be able to completely and permanently remove data that might happen to have been typed in chat. We cannot move forward with deploying this as it stands for legal liability and contract reasons.
I know you cannot necessarily respond to every message, but REGULAR updates on the status of things like this would go a long way toward community good will. Without any kind of update for months at a time, it can start feeling like the community is being ignored. This is frustrating for current customers and can be a red flag for potential customers.
As much as my company wants to use teams (we are licensed and have a huge demand), our legal team is preventing it as they do not want the chat history discoverable in public information requests. Being able to disable the history or only store X days would go along way to enabling our use.
If teams is going to be the go forward platform and be the central way MS wants users to engage with their products. The chat feature needs to mirror the same features as Skype. So removing chats with individuals is a must have.
Sabine Jakob commented
When you chat with individuals, it is usually information that is only needed at short notice.
Therefore, like in Whatsapp, I wish to be able to decide for myself whether I want to cancel or delete a chat, or parts of a chat, or not.
When I don't have this opportunity, I honestly feel patronized by Microsoft (Teams) in my way of working. I must be allowed to decide for myself which data is relevant for me and which is not.
Action is urgently needed here.
This should be the easiest thing in the world to implement. I have HUGE streams of chat material, some of it sensitive, that I would like to remove. I can't believe there is not an option for this in Teams.
Microsoft is getting dumber and dumber.
Imagine if some nitwit sends you an email that is off-color and you can't delete it and it always shows on your screen...that's Teams!
(Who cares if it is archived for compliance, help us maintain a kinder workplace).
Due to RODO restrictions in UE any company cannot store private data when we don't agree, don't allow, change our mind. If someone writes their private number in conversation, there has to be a mechanism to completely remove this information.
In my opinion, there should be an option to create channels with the ability for anyone to remove their own comment and so this action was made on all devices connected to this conversation.
There should also be an option to create a channel which deletes permanently messages after a set period of time, like an hour, day, week, month / or validates view of the message for set period of time: lets say i want everyone in the channel to see some info/picture just for one day, I should have an option to post this kind of message and:
user 1 displays today and tomorrow the message will disappeare from chat for him,
user 2 will see the message next week and message will disappeare next day,
after all connected to the channel users see message, info and data is deleted permanently.
Jonathan Klein-Wiele commented
This is a must have!
John Doe commented
I want to be able to delete chats! I asked T-Bot about that - see attached screenshot about what it said. What cheek to publish a conversation tool for productive use without such a basic feature.
Patrick Moulds commented
Any update on this feature? Our end users have stopped using Teams, due to the inability to delete chats.
Just found out or private chats were going into our Agile CRM! Anyone could see them, under our names in the CRM. This is unacceptable! I won't even use my work email to post this comment out of fear of what else will be shared!
Jake Edwards commented
The primary use case for some of our users is that they prefer to start a fresh conversation similar to how Skype For Business operates.
User attitudes are mixed -- some don't have an issue with previous history, others do, though they would likely get used to it in time.
Maybe the deletion is less of the issue, but a button to "load previous conversation" might help satisfy the user case of keeping the history clean?
Jake Edwards commented
A comment on the auditability side of things; if the users objective is to obscure/remove a message, they could technically edit the message and blank it (it doesn't appear to show edit history).
SERIOUSLY?!?! Saying I can delete my private chat messages, but still being able to undo the delete... and still wasting the screen space of where that deleted message sits is NOT deleting. Especially when I can't clear the entire conversation. Using Teams truly gives me anxiety. I feel like I'm in the house of a hoarder and I'm not allowed to touch a thing. Or that I have a counter full of dirty dishes and I will never ever be able to wash the dishes, put them away, or throw them out. Meanwhile, the stack of dirty dishes will continue to grow for eternity.
WTF. Why must we see a note that says that a message has been deleted?
How about the next time I just edit the message with a strikethrough through the whole thing? That would be more funny.
unfathomable that this product was even released with a delete feature...