Delete Private Chat threads
This request is for the ability to completely delete a private chat thread. (Not hide/archive.)
Again, this was pulled out into its own topic because it is still under review and no decision has been made.
To recap what has already been completed from the other topic:
- Delete your own messages anywhere in Teams.
- Team Owners can choose if users can edit/delete in their tenant as well as choose if admins have the power to delete any message posted in public channels.
- The ability to hide your private chat threads (these are not the chat threads in channels, but the private chat threads that appear when you click the Chat icon on the left-side app bar).
- The ability to mute your private chat threads. (these are not the chat threads in channels, but the private chat threads that appear when you click the Chat icon on the left-side app bar).
This topic deserves consideration and separating out hot items is something we have often done. Please don't think of this as an attempt to diminish the ask, we know that many people want this.
Thank you for your understanding and feedback.
Thank you for your votes and comments on this feature. The team is in the process of finalizing designs for deleting private chat threads. I will update as we have more progress to share.
In my opinion, from legal perspective ( according GDPR) chats have to be deleted regularly , f.i. after 30 days; how to do this automatically ?
Thomas B commented
Can't find a reason for why it's not possible to manage chat threads better. I've used a lot of time deleting messages in a thread one by one over the time.
Being able to clear a thread or at least delete multible messages at a time is a must. Another perhaps more clever way would being able to delete messages within a specific period (date/time)
Please don't leave us with the hassle of needing to delete messages one by one... makes no sense...
It would be great to completely delete a chat conversation with an easy delete button.
Please work on a way to remove the "This message has been deleted" message
Deepak Verma commented
This would be very useful. My team's chat is way to cluttered. We use team's for one time events groups e.g. Ignite attendees, etc. And then that lingers around. Hiding is fine, but that just moves the problem to a different screen
Should be a hide/show or clear functionality to manage deleted posts. Also, currently the message that appears is the same for all deleted messages which means even if we wanted to undelete a post may be hard to find if we did mass deletions and accidentally deleted a post ... current functionality is very limited and needs changing.
sujin yu commented
I agree too
Allow deletion of conversation with a user so that the next time you have a chat with the same user, it should be a fresh conversation. However the previous chats can be saved in Conversation history in outlook or in the same app if needed.
carl Dean Catabay commented
Team owners should be able to delete post without leaving a message that a post has been deleted. Specially if we are doing test posts on teams. This is both annoying and messy!
Please urgently help us on this. Thank you.
If MS Teams need to replace Skype, then skype had option of deleting individual chat history.
A lot of times, few chats are not necessary for any future reference. No point keeping garbage anywhere.
I understand we can hide the same, but for private chats let me decide whether its important.
Need this feature badly.......for our organization..
I hate that I can't find the activity chat session quickly like I can with SKYPE. They are talking of taking away SKYPE... NOT GOOD!! Not easy to function in it! There are some things that work ok, but the CHAT S*cks!
True! Please make this available!
This is very indeed essential. Please notice this feature!
frank wu commented
completely delete a private chat thread. (Not hide/archive.) , agree that !!!! this is very important for private information . we need mircrosoft do something right now . don't let user wating long time .
S Rioux commented
This is totally annoying. When you delete something, it should disappear. Only the author should have a option to undelete from a recycle bin.
Add option to delete entire conversation
Has this feature been removed to allow spying?!!
Totally unacceptable. This should not be on a backlog -- essential !