Assigning a non-member to a task in planner adds them to the Team
If you assign a person a task in planner who isn't a member of the team, they automatically get added to the team. There is a message which says non-member but I don't think this is clear enough.
There should be another warning/pop up telling the user that if they assign a task to someone not on the team they will get added to the team. This is a security concern!
Has anyone come up with a work around for this whilst MS addresses the problem? I was thinking of creating a bucket for none team members that I wanted to assign tasks to?
Suggestions much appreciated.
maxime Desroches Charron commented
Yes !!! I totally agree about the idea of not having to add the a member in a planner group directly on the team group the file is also shared !!! We should be able to add someone to a planner but not to the private team !!! Exemple : we want to assign a task to any of the group of employees but, only the team of managers can access to the private team wich also includes the planner in a channel. Therefore, the employee could access to planner directly and do their tasks but they don’t need to be added to the team where the planner is also shared.
Hoping for a solution on this as we won´t start using planner until this is "fixed", which is unfortunate, because I like planner
Apparently there is a pop-up alert when trying to perform this action from Teams, but not when performing the same action directly in Planner! If the alert pop-up is the intended solution, please also apply this fix when making task assignment changes directly from Planner. Thanks.
Oh my. Just came across this too late. This led to a major data security breach in our company. Assigning a non-member to an integrated Planner plan should either not be possible unless the non-member is officially added to the Teams group, or the Planner assignment should have not give access to other data within that Teams group. In our case, by assigning a non-member to a Planner task within a private team made lots of confidential information available to this non-member. What a mess! This is a serious data privacy issue and needs to be addressed.
Any updates since the last status update to Under Review over a year ago?
totally support this idea!
Michael Sudnik commented
I want to be able to assign a task to someone outside of the team or to an organisational guest - and they would only be able to see / update their specific task. They would not see any of the other plan / team contents (e.g. members, documents, tasks, etc.)
Completely agree, people should be able to be added to a specific plan and not the entire team, it just doesn't make sense.
Roy F commented
Just to be clear, for anyone that gets alarmed by this (as I did); this only happens for those with priv to add members, assignment is restricted to current members if you don't have that priv. It happens as soon as someone is selected, even if you don't leave the task edit dialog with them selected. And there is no warning that the person selected is not a team member (as described in the original feedback post), so perhaps that has changed since te post was done.
The fact that non-priv members can't do this is a huge plus, but this is still a bad security hole. Microsoft should consider this a significant security bug, not a suggestion.
Suggestion: I like being able to add a member via task assignment, but it needs to require overt action, e.g. "You selected a non member; do you want to add them to the group and continue?"
Actually, I am of the opinion that non-member should be allowed to be added to the Planner but not be added as a member (which Team does it automatically), or an option to add or not to add to the Team. This allows for the individual to access his/her own Planner and find the task listed there.
Megan Klar commented
totally support this idea! 👍
Cécile MAYER commented
Fully agree, i do not know how it should behave but not giving the full membership to the group. I would personnally be happy with a task which becomes part of a “personal plan” (of the person who isn’t a member) and which can be updated by this person
Actually, the user added to a task, is added to the O365 group. As described above, it is a security concern.