When you delete a message also delete the replies associated.
Currently when you delete the main message the associated replies will still exist. As the original poster you should be able to delete your post which should delete the entire string.
Paul Tyson commented
Why has this not been done yet? Its ridiculous having to delete replies individually
Just to add on this thread, some of the replies remain for new users, added to the Team after deleting. This is despite being shown as deleted or empty on the Owner's and pre existing users end.
This is very concerning as the new users who got added could see the those discussions without the knowledge of the owner.
This is an ongoing issue and I dont know how to resolve this.
Please fix this.
At least there should be an option to hide the whole conversation.
Why replies are left after deleting post?
When the message delete the replies muat be deleted.
when you delete a post all replies must be deleted at the same time
My students began replying to each other for an icebreaker in class...and then continued to use it as a chatroom for hours later that night. I assumed that when I deleted the initial conversation prompt it would delete the responses, but apparently I really have to individually delete over 200 replies to a message that isn't there anymore??? I was planning on using Teams as our primary platform, but this alone makes me want to shut down the whole team.
As for being afraid of bosses deleting the thread, they still can if they're an owner, they just have to do it one message at a time. Not offering this feature in no way safeguards from that happening.
Preston Lathrop commented
Laurentino makes a good point below. Our Human Resources department expressed concern about this sort of "misunderstanding" occurring. They asked for a method to view the complete history behind a deleted or modified message thread in Channel Conversations or Persistent Chat. Microsoft doesn't seem to have provided a straightforward audit feature for HR departments to access if and when a dispute arises.
Bhanu prasad commented
I agree with this idea..
I have a problem with this. Suppose I was instructed to complete a task, which I do. Now my manager realized that completing the task was detrimental and he deletes that message. Now he can say, "I did not tell you to do that. Your mistake." I go back to prove that he sent it, and now its gone. This would not happen in outlook and it should not happen in Teams.
I agree. it can leave the conversation page full of deleted posts. That is problematic for keeping clean conversation page and for litigation...
Shane Fryer commented
This is a very strange feature, leaving replies when the original post is deleted. I also think this idea of voting for changes should be consider enhancements and bugs. To me this is a bug and should be fixed irrespective of how many votes it gets, which is not many right now.
Yes! I agree. It would be nice to delete the whole block of messages.