Notifications when a member leaves a team
When one user adds/removes another user to team, we could see a notification within the General Channel. However, when a user or owner joins/leaves a team himself, there is no such notification.
Feature request: Alert/warning message should be displayed on. Owners should be alerted by email if any of the member leave the TEAMS.
While this feature is not built in to Teams, if you use Power Automate you can set up a very simple 3-step flow that triggers when a member leaves (or is removed from) a team. You can have the flow trigger a Teams message to whomever necessary, send an e-mail, etc. and you can identify who left/was removed by having the flow pull the user's profile info as a second step, then adding in their name, e-mail ID, etc. into the notification that gets sent.
Hope this helps.
D Bradley commented
This is something that is seriously needed. Owners should be alerted by email if any of the members leave the Teams group! Especially now that so many of us are working remotely and depend on Teams for our every interaction.
N TK commented
Option to notify owners when someone leaves a Team or Channel would be great.
Yes, please add this feature! Maybe a check box next to the owners in the manage section to allow each owner to manage if they want to be notified when someone leaves a team.
It'd be nice to be notified when someone chooses to leave the group, not just see a change when someone is removed. In my instance, the person accidentally left the team and I went weeks not noticing and had to add him back in only once I was notified.
Ryan R. Smith commented
I fell victim to this issue today. I was added to a private group by "someone" and thought it was a mistake, so I chose to use the "Leave the Group" option. 1) I didn't realize it was a private group, 2) I didn't realize that leaving this group meant I would not be able to re-join later unless I contacted the group admin and asked them to re-add me.
Feature Request: Provide a last step confirmation affordance which offers 4, new, on-screen items that might appear at the bottom-right area of the Microsoft Teams Group pane:
1) A message informing the user "You are about to leave a private group. You will not be able to re-join this group unless invited by a group member or re-added by a group admin."
2) A button group with the label: Are you sure you want to Leave the Channel?
3) A submit button with contrasting (noticeably different "destructive") styling (aka: trashcan icon and "red" or similar button background coloring). This button might be labeled: Leave the Group".
4) A basic button with neutral styling and simply labeled: Cancel.