Stop planner "Delete Plan" from deleting Teams team.
If you select "Delete Plan" in Microsoft planner, it also deletes the Team associated with that planner board.
We see this as a critical bug and have already had a large presentation delayed as a person accidentally deleted two important teams by deleting the planner boards via Planner.
This is worst thing and still a issue, this post is since 2017 and still not fixed, this thing has cause a worst nightmare ........
noor ul amin commented
Stop planner "Delete Plan" from the deleting Teams team.
I am sorry but its absolutely ridiculous that this is still not fixed. I deleted one single plan that wasn't even used productively and my whole team was deleted as well with all the data we had in there.
Yesterday I proposed to my team to move our task management to Planner and everyone agreed. Shortly after, this happened. If this isn't fixed, I will refrain from even considering to ask my team to use Planner. Too bad. I really liked planner. But this issue makes Planner a no-go for me.
How on earth is still a thing? This is utterly insane! An unkowing user could very easily delete the entire Team at the click of a button. It's becoming more and more obvious that this software isn't even out of alpha yet and it feels increasingly like it never will be. The roadmap is empty and these posts are completely ignored.
This just happened to my team! Whole team is now gone along with all the hard work we did (wikis, files, tutorials, whatever)
How can this be!? This need a fix ASAP!
I'm testing this in my org right now. When a Team Owner deletes the Planner board, the Team will also be deleted. If a Team Member deletes the Planner board, however, only the Planner board will be deleted. I am letting this sit overnight and will elevate the Member to an Owner tomorrow to see if anything changes.
Edit: changing permissions after-the-fact does not result in a deleted Team.
Jonas Nilsson commented
Weird that this Uservoice hasn´t been addressed by MS yet since it is a major flaw
This is an issue that needs to be addressed, because there is also no indication or warning that when you leave a Plan, you also leave the team in Teams that is associated with that Plan. Therefore, we are stuck with all of these unused plans cluttering up the Planner hub, but we have no way to leave them, because we don't want to be removed from the team in Teams as well.
This serious bug needs to be fixed soon. Otherwise the support efforts will increase quickly when Planner boards are heavily used within a tenant...
A lesser form of this design bug is that clicking "Leave Planner" exits a user from the whole team.
At a minimum, this needs a UI fix.
I just deleted a whole team by doing this... Everything is gone! This is very very very bad.
Anthony G commented
OMG this is bad, I was about to delete a plan but now afraid it will delete the project team, which is in critical stage