Removed messages should disappear from Activity/Feed
I noticed that when a user posts a message on any channel then the same user removes it, the message remains visible in all users activity/Feed list.
At last for users that received the notification for that message.
A deleted message should not be visible/readable in the activity/feed.
Marc Winter commented
@Microsoft: Please take into consideration, that this behavior is potentially a direct violation of EU GDPR-regulations: depending on the information that is supposed to be deleted, users have the *right* to demand a complete removal - this definitly needs to be possible to be GDPR-compliant.
Kaleb Commers commented
I agree. I feel like when you view the page it was deleted from it should at least be marked as 'read'. It is annoying to have to open the activity feed and scroll to the bolded entry and click it just to see that the message is deleted when I was already on the page that it was deleted from.
Another option is to add a setting allowing you to not show it or at least to not show it as unread in the activity feed when it's been deleted.
Forrest Trepte commented
Yes, it is very confusing when you click on the activity feed notification and nothing happens. I ended up reading through the page multiple times, scrolling around, and expanding threads looking for the post and not finding it.
Also, it's currently particularly bad because you can see the first few words of what they said--potentially leaking information to you that they had intended to delete or possibly taking what they said out of context because the full post is no longer available.
Shawn Castrianni commented
My preference is that it get removed from the Activity feed so that an accidental message still can't be read. But at the very least, some kind of DELETED indicator needs to be visible so that we know it was deleted.
Roy F commented
The activity feed entry should remain, but the content of the feed entry should say "Message deleted" and a popup should say "Message deleted" when the feed entry is clicked.
I've wasted time on multiple occasions trying to figure out why a message wasn't highlighted when I clicked on the feed.
A reason to delete a message is because it may have confidential information inadvertently posted to the wrong location; that content should not remain visible in the activity feed after the message was deleted.
If the intention of the user is to delete the message, why would it be kept anywhere?
Activity Feed shows items no longer in existence.
I removed myself from a Team and then the Team was deleted by the owner. Yet the link in Activity is still there and gives an error now.
Should be able to clear those.
Jon Webster commented
I spend a few seconds trying to figure out what when wrong when I click something in my activity feed that doesn't open the related activity. At least when you click the entry it should say the post was deleted or SOMETHING.
Something needs to stay in the feed, If someone gets a notification then check the app and there is no notification. That leaves them puzzled for a different reason.
Your Team / The best channel
<in italics> Message deleted by author
Ulrika Hedlund commented
I totally agree! One of the major "selling points" with Teams is that conversations are much "smarter" than email since you can delete and edit messages. If a deleted message is still visible in the Activity feed, it's not much of a selling point...
Sebastian Casaccia commented
Bumping this, because it is super important! The other day one of our team members accidentally posted login credentials into a channel (classic Alt+Tab mistake). The accidental message was deleted right away, but it stayed in the activity feed of all the other members. This is obviously not good and needs to be addressed IMHO.
this needs to happen. i have many users confused about messages that appear in the activity feed and then can't be clicked on/navigated to due to the message having been deleted.
it is very confusing if the message is still in the feed!
Jan Sedo commented
Please do this. There should be no notification in the activity feed about something that does not exist anymore. It's confusing.
Davide Carta commented