Allow removal of people from Group Chats
Once a person is added to a group chat. You cannot remove them. You must create a new chat and lose all the history.
The ability to remove a user from group chats (including meeting chats) is now available on desktop, and coming soon to mobile.
How it works: A user can go to any group chat of 3 or more people and navigate to the roster and by hovering over any user you will see the “X”. Clicking on this will show a confirmation dialog. Then the user must select remove to remove the user.
What does everyone see: Everyone in the chat will see the control message that says “User A removed User B from the chat”.
What does the removed user see: The removed user will still have access to the chat history but will no longer see new messages after the point of removal and will not be able to compose messages or make any changes to the chat.
Note: This setting is controlled by your tenant admin, so may or may not be available to you in your tenant.
My problem is, that it doesn't work at all. Whenever we remove someone from one team, or from the whole company, in 1-2 days later they attached again. How can remove someone permanently? I think it is a major bug, because we know exactly, how can remove someone.
Finally, the night king is dead and ability to remove users from chat is here.
Frederik V. commented
That is one major leap forward. Thank you!
However, I would love to have the option that at least the admin (the creator of the chat) can also specify if the kicked user will loose the history as well. Why? Because the following happend to us: A chat was created between a group of users. HR sensitive information was shared, then somebody added someone else by mistake and we needed to remove the person. AND also prohibit the wrongly added user from viewing the chat history... Not good - to not have that option in an enterprise setting.
Other examples had been made in the discussion as well: Change of department, Freelance etc.
very nice, thank you
Chris Webb commented
Jeffrey they see whatever you tell them they can see when they join since you get to pick what history they can see. If you say all then they will see all history up to the point of removal etc.
So if we add someone to a Chat in progress and then delete them from that Chat, what do they see? The history of the Chat from the very beginning, or only the Chats while they were a member?
Woo Hoo! Just came looking for an update on this and found it's implemented. Thanks! Any update on Private Channels? ;)
thanks for the Update!
Vadim Rudenko commented
Perfect! Thank you!
Great! Have been waiting for this update so long. Thank you MS Teams
Aswin Kannan commented
How the 'admin' of the group chat is determined? Can someone add back the removed user?
Winter you mentioned is referring to your statement year Nov 1, 2018 right! It is NOW 2019, when will be the exactly date!
Winter 2018 or Winter 2019?
John Howell commented
Hello Microsoft? Any updates to this?
Is Microsoft freezing this issue yet? Not yet solution and never heard update from Microsoft MS Team.
I guess some people forgot to turn on the heater last winter and the feature got frozen in the pipe !
Is winter over yet?? :)
I have seen today a new feature in admin center within Messaging policies called "Allow a user to remove users from a group chat". is this the feature you are talking about in this thread?
By default the feature is on for the tenant but when going to a group chat cannot find the way to spell a user from the group...
I've changed jobs, don't use Teams anymore. Still monitoring this thread cause it's freaking hilarious and I can't help but wonder when winter ends in this case.
Michel Zehnder commented
Must be a long winter at Microsoft... :)