How can we make Microsoft Teams better?

Open in Word/Excel/PowerPoint as Default

It would be great if Teams would have the ability to always launch the desktop app when opening Office documents as opposed to launching the online version.

Rest of teams is awesome.

896 votes
Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Facebook Google
Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

Jannie van der Walt shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

96 comments

Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: Facebook Google
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
  • Mae Gerhart commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Maybe enable it on a user basis? I am an accountant I personally NEVER want to open Excel docs in the online version -- but other users do :-(

• Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

I work in an organisation that has implemented Teams and I honestly cannot name one person in my organisation who would prefer the online version of office to default instead of desktop. Online is slow,clunky and generally useless.

Sort it out - please!

Nice (not) feedback for almost a year. Who is doing your communication strategy? Or is it a plan to ignore the users?

• Jan Zidek commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Wow - request registered on Feb 20, 2017, with 806 votes (as of 03.06.2019) and still not done... Damned be my company that they force us using Teams :(

• Nick commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

I'd also like to vote for this improvement. As I see, users have been waiting for a while but it's still the same. Opening files online is the most annoying feature for me in Teams despite many other benefits.

• Amanda commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

My CIO says he likes Teams but doesn't want to use it as its too hard to open a file in the desktop app. This annoying behaviour is not helping to drive adoption of Teams

• Jonas Bøhmer commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Please update us @Warren. It's been a full year.