Recreate deleted channel
Deleted channels cannot be recreated. They are visible in ShaerPoint, but cannot be recreated or restored in Teams.
The restore the deleted channel is available. Here is the release note snip.
Restore a deleted channel
You’re now able to restore any channel you deleted up to 21 days after taking action (click Manage team then open the Channels tab to get started). Anyone can do this by default, but there’s a team setting that restricts restoring and deleting channels to team owners only.
Since the restore channel is available I will flag this one completed.
However, we are still working on the issue with SharePoint folder names not being synced after deleting or renaming. The UV topic tracking the SharePoint issue can be found at https://microsoftteams.uservoice.com/forums/555103-public/suggestions/16927219-re-using-the-same-channel-name
110 commentsComments are closed
Robert Nagy commented
Please fix. My company would like to use MS Team but it is important to be able to recover deleted channels.
Leon de Rooij commented
I was able to restore a deleted channel: at least I was a able to restore a planner board which was connected to the channel. How?
1. Add a channel
2. Use the exact same name of the channel
3. You get a message that this is not possible
4. Remove the name and use the name again.
5. The same name is now accepted (how I don't know).
Next I added a planner board. I got the choice to create a new planner of use existing ones (whit in the team) and voila!! I was able to choice the planner which was deleted with the channel.
Well, this was the way that worked for me. I hope this way will work for others.
The ability to restore deleted items is absolutely fundamental to administering a system. So is the ability to -prevent- deletions. Not having this is entirely unacceptable.
Please fix. For a deleted channel you should save who deleted the channel.
If it was a channel owner(s), it is then the question if only the one who deleted the channel should be able to recover the channel, or any channel owner. What is certain is that an accidentally deleted channel should be recoverable (there can be so many informations being deleted within a channel, a channel must be recoverable (the only question is by who)).
Stephen White commented
Can the default account be set to not have the ability to delete channels until this issue is resolved?
...this is super dumb. Please fast track this fix.
Vinny Troia commented
This isn't a small oversight. Not being able to delete/re-create channels is a pretty major item. And its still only PLANNED. It will take at least 6 months for the functionality to add a team site with a previously deleted name??
Paul M commented
We are not deploying Teams to production precisely for this reason. Why didn't it occur to the product team that this is a necessary requirement from the very beginning?
UGH! How was Teams even released without the restore functionality...or at least be able to restrict members from not deleting channels and teams?! URGENT FIX REQUIRED PLEASE. We've just lost plenty of data. )-:
Since the default settings for a Team allow Members to delete a channel, there MUST be a way to restore it. Not having that is just asking for trouble. Is there any way to change the default team settings so that Members CANNOT delete a channel?
My sysadmin passed out when someone deleted a channel by accident and found out it couldn't be restored. Luckily we revived him with bourbon. But for his sake PLEASE fix this.
Michael Wender commented
I would be happy with the ability to merely create a new channel with the same name as a deleted channel.
need to restore channels asap
Any update regarding this?
Any update on this?
Great idea... accidents do happen.
Jason W commented
Ability of Team owner to recover deleted channels and tabs