Recreate deleted channel
Deleted channels cannot be recreated. They are visible in ShaerPoint, but cannot be recreated or restored in Teams.
The restore the deleted channel is available. Here is the release note snip.
Restore a deleted channel
You’re now able to restore any channel you deleted up to 21 days after taking action (click Manage team then open the Channels tab to get started). Anyone can do this by default, but there’s a team setting that restricts restoring and deleting channels to team owners only.
Since the restore channel is available I will flag this one completed.
However, we are still working on the issue with SharePoint folder names not being synced after deleting or renaming. The UV topic tracking the SharePoint issue can be found at https://microsoftteams.uservoice.com/forums/555103-public/suggestions/16927219-re-using-the-same-channel-name
If fixing this issue is "Planned", why does it not appear in the Office 365 Roadmap?
If you search for the word "channel" in the roadmap there's no mention of any effort or action or plan to try and fix this ...
Jordan Clark commented
Is there an update on this? The inability to recover deleted channels is becoming problematic since we can't limit the permission set on who can add/delete channels.
I would also recommend adding an alert that notifies owners if a channel or tab is deleted so that once there is a restored channel solution they can restore it within the time allotted. They shouldn't have to check every week.
Thomas Lunsford commented
Here's a possible solution.
First, the following works:
1) Create channel abc
2) Rename channel abc to abc2 (and optionally delete it)
3) Create new channel abc (success!)
By that logic, the code that deletes a channel should be able to rename it (say, append deletion date stamp) before actually deleting it. That should solve the problem for all deletions going forward.
Luke Whiteman commented
Happy 2018! Unhappy team folders.
Hello! The only question is when the functionality will be released? One year passed and no any clue on it.
Jeff Padgett commented
We need this soon ... making the transition to Team harder than necessary! Thx
Jerry Jackson commented
<GUID> - Team Name
Is this how microsoft expects people to use MS Teams? Just in case you want to use same "Team Name" after deleting one... O_o
James Cann commented
With the limit of only 100 Channels its really important to have some way of deleting/archiving a channel and then re-instating it. Then you can keep channels for your active clients and "deactivate" lapsed clients with the ability to restore if we re-engage.
Mike Gendreau commented
Is there still not a fix for this? I have a user that deleted a channel and wants it recovered.
This is definitely important. @Suphatra: can you give more insight in the planning?
[Deleted User] commented
This is definitely a huge gap that needs to be addressed.
Unbelievable. How can this bug still exist? If the channel name exists, why can't I see the channel? I cannot see it, because I DELETED it. If I DELETED it, why isn't it DELETED? If it is DELETED, then how can it EXIST? Paradox that only Microsoft is capable of creating. Disappointed.
Jennifer Louey commented
Please fix this. This is a real deal breaker considering this is a very basic function.
Louis Henn commented
Seriously guys - step it up if you want to compete in this market. This is basically functionality that should be available from the start. How am I to test a product if once I deleted a channel, I can't reuse the name? What if a team within a department changes their name? Can't rename because it breaks the link to the folder on SharePoint. Think these things through and through and ask yourself what the end-user is going to do/expect.
Just encountered this error and i am stunned. With issues like this in Teams, I feel like this is a Beta product.
Jason W commented
That is for recovering an entire Team that's been deleted, not a channel within a Team.
This has been fixed - a while ago.
This might help if you've created some channels and want to delete them, but don't want to be blocked in re-using the same channel name.
If you rename a channel you wish to delete before deleting it, then the name that is blocked is not the original name of the channel, but rather the new name you've given the channel.
So for example, if you generate a guid (on the basis that you'll never actually use this guid for a channel name), rename the channel using the guid, then delete the channel. Then the guid will be blocked as a name for future use as a channel name in the Team, but the original name of the channel can be re-used.
Every time you delete a channel you can rename the channel using the same guid in every case, if you wish. Teams doesn't mind you deleting a channel that has the same name as one already deleted (in this case, the repeatedly used guid). So only one channel name in the whole namespace of channels in a Team is only ever blocked - the guid name.
You could use "Deleted channel" or some other more familiar and never to be used name instead of a guid for the name you rename channels to before deleting them. Tthen only "Deleted channel" is blocked in the Team's namespace.
In the case where you generate guids for each renaming of a channel before deletion, you could then rename the SharePoint channel folder left over in the documents library of the SP site associated with the Team using the guid. Otherwise recreating a channel with the same name will use that pre-existing folder - which you might want to occur, if so, do that then and leave the folder.
You could document this protocol / procedure to your Teams users. This has the disadvantage that they will consider you a sadistic psychopath for ever foisting such a deficient product upon them. But then you've probably already done that before by proposing other MS products, right?
Robert Hatcher commented
This is absurd