Properly Delete a Channel
When a channel is deleted its activity remains in the Notifications section of the Activity tab and its conversations are visible. Also the ellipsis will allow you to select 'Delete this Channel' (again) and the File tab below the ellipsis shows an 'Unknown Error' message (I'd deleted the SharePoint folder too). When a channel is deleted, everything related to it in the UI should disappear. There is a valid argument to retaining the Files and Notes on SharePoint, to be deleted manually if desired.
Please add a "permanently delete" button to the Manage Teams Channels tab under the delted channels section. If I want to reuse the name, i cant becuase its still in the deleted channels list
Paul Hinsberg commented
It should be an option to retain the underlying SharePoint and documents. Creating without properly cleaning up is a big problem. When I delete something it needs to be deleted - there are also legal ramifications for information being unwittingly left behind.
David Ho commented
A complete deletion of a channel is a must!
The following provides a way to remove the SP site with PowerShell - should work with UI as well IMHO.
Paul Roman commented
If Channels are going to automatically show up in SharePoint Online as folders, then the reverse should be true also. Deleting a Channel should (a) allow for complete deletion as mentioned in several other user comments; (b) notify the user of content owned by that channel that would be removed from the SharePoint back end by continuing with the delete; and (c) should remove the corresponding "folder" so it no longer appears in SharePoint Online
Woody Lenton commented
I'm finding Teams will not allow me to delete some channels. They remain like cantankerous turds the morning after rather colourful nights out!
I added "Team Test". This worked. I deleted it. This removed the associated Office 365 group, but left the associated Sharepoint site behind. This doesn't seem to be removable in a normal way.
We were testing channel organization and naming schemes, and unfortunately we cannot create channels using the same name as a previously deleted channel. We attempted to delete all the associated folders and notes in sharepoint, but we were still unable to reuse the channel name.
You also can't create a channel with the name of a channel that has been deleted, and I can find no way to bring back a deleted channel so that I can rename it to something else.
If you try create a channel with the name of a deleted channel, you get the cryptic error message "An error occurred while creating the channel." At least if you try to rename a channel to the name of a deleted channel, you get a message telling you the channel already exists.