Ability to archive channels
Would be nice if we had the ability to archive channels. For example: we created a channel for a specific project. Once the project is complete, we can archive that channel or at least move it out of the primary view. I could see the channel list getting large and clunky quickly with multiple projects many of which are complete.
Also, when a conversation in the channel is complete it should be archived or hidden.
This item remains on the backlog.
Education use of this feature would be fantastic
Lindy Hockenbary commented
Yes! I would really like this feature for education use.
Archiving a Channel and Conversation is critical. Especially if MS teams is being used extensively within an Organisation the amount of channels/conversations is unmanageable. Need to rally users of MS teams urgently support this feature so that MS can place this as a priority.
Michael Gorn commented
We need to journal all Microsoft Teams chats and other messages to Global Relay. We already journal our Exchange messages and we need to do the same for Microsoft Teams before we can deploy it to our users. This is a compliance requirement. Would you be able to implement that?
michael johnson commented
We need someway of managing content that is not 'current' but we wish to keep. I envision something similar to archiving a section in OneNote.
We have 60ish users. a group for each or our Customers /Company with a channel for each project. some projects are current some have been completed. would like to hide the completed project channels but still retain the content.
Any info on how this would work would be great. Will the conversations/files still remain searchable? Will the channels just be hidden from the team? etc...
Chad Hudson commented
It would be great if we could drag-and-drop channels into custom order.
App - ...
App - ...
Product - ...
Product - ...
It did alphabetize the 'app' and 'product' names, but not beyond that. We would like to be able to drag 'Product (2)' above 'Product (1)'
Galen Roquet commented
This is a critical feature for getting buy-in from management in our company. Without it we have stick to email or look for another solution as searching conversation history is a daily routine for us. Real Estate Development.
Any update on the timeframe this capability is expected to release?
P. van Rossum commented
This also means clean up the channel or the whole team after archiving.
Minh Do commented
This would be very useful
Brian Critchlow commented
"Archiving" meaning being able to hide the conversation that is no longer active.
Archiving individual conversations would let you create a channel just for "outstanding issues" which can be full of the conversations about the individual issues, and as each issue is resolved those conversations can be archived, perhaps to another defined channel for later reference if required, but it would keep the outstanding issues clean from conversations that have come to a resolution.
Ted bolan commented
Yes! This is highest priority for my use. We are organizing projects by channels and need to keep an archive of these projects.
Alex Fischer commented
most important (so far non-existing) feature
Ted bolan commented
A way of organizing channels. Archive channels once they are completed or a method of filing channels into folders.
Alexander Lehming commented
+ 1 on Archiving
John Day commented
Looking for the ability to Archive a channel.
We have adopted Teams as our replacement for Lync2013 persistent chat.
Would be nice to have some functionality where a channel could be moved to an archive / set to read only once it is no longer 'live' but the information in the chat still required for reference
Bill Vilberg commented
I currently have two lists, my favorited channels and the unfavorited (more channels) list. Thus setting is at the user level. I would like a way for us to classify a channel as "completed" without removing it. That is what I mean by "archived".
My current solution is to change the name of the channel so that it starts with "x " and then unfavoriting it. That lets everyone on the team see that it is considered completed by the name change. It groups all the archived channels at the bottom of the "More channels" list.
This may be the best feasible solution. Otherwise I could mark a channel archived and it would disappear from other people's list of favorite or more channels without warning. No one "owns" a channel, so you can't control who would have archive rights.
Perhaps another alternative would be to have an "archive" selection for the channel. An item would be added to the channel saying who had archived it. Anyone who has the channel as a favorite would by @ mentioned in the notice. That way everyone would be informed that the channel was being marked completed.
Does that seem possible?
Any update on this? The ability to remove these from the interface without deleting the data is the #1 most requested function from my users.