Re-using the same Channel Name
After you create a channel, then choose to delete the channel, you can no longer create a NEW channel with the same name. It seems like you have to delete the team and start over.
Updating the status to “Try this instead” and have added the clarification that after 30 days the name is once again available.
The reason for this decision was that Channels can be restored 30 days after being deleted. During this time, we intentionally don’t support creating a channel with the same name. After the 30 days, the name is available.
You can workaround this by restoring a deleted channel, renaming it, and then deleting the channel again. The previous name is then available for use.
This workaround has already been mentioned in the comments and if an immediate reuse of a Channel Name is required, this is the recommended solution.
I agree with Anonymous. Upon learning how channel names created folders in SharePoint, I now want to use the previously deleted channel name as it aligns with the naming convention used in my SharePoint file folder.
Better yet.... When a channel is deleted it should clean up all of the artifacts that came with it so the same name could be used again later.
See title! I think this is a bug...
Daniel Aldén commented
We have a real tenant we use at demo with customer and after every scenario we need to clean it up, but it´s not possible to clean channels at Teams or recreate channels with same name. Please make it possible to run demo without history in Teams with our customers. Use a demo tenant is not the right way to us because we have a lot of preparation before every demo.
Yes, would be great to be able to re-use a name. Still learning the best channel set up, so frustrating not to be able to reinstate the desired layout.
Le Digabel commented
1/ Hi Teams, could you integrate another restriction options that dont allow to create new teams site from "non administrateurs members" ?
2/ We cant create a new channel with the same name if this channel was deleted.
Jamie Thomson commented
If a channel is created, then deleted, then a new channel attempted to be created using the same name then the user is told "Another channel already has that name. Try a different one.".
That's not really true, and might be confusing to someone that doesn't know the channel already existed. A better error message might be "That name has already been used by a previously deleted channel. Try a different one."
I am running into the exact same problem. Very frustrating.