Re-using the same Channel Name
After you create a channel, then choose to delete the channel, you can no longer create a NEW channel with the same name. It seems like you have to delete the team and start over.
Updating the status to “Try this instead” and have added the clarification that after 30 days the name is once again available.
The reason for this decision was that Channels can be restored 30 days after being deleted. During this time, we intentionally don’t support creating a channel with the same name. After the 30 days, the name is available.
You can workaround this by restoring a deleted channel, renaming it, and then deleting the channel again. The previous name is then available for use.
This workaround has already been mentioned in the comments and if an immediate reuse of a Channel Name is required, this is the recommended solution.
Gretchen Dietz commented
I hope they revisit this given that you can't change a public channel to a private channel without recreating it. So now if I delete the public channel to make it private, I can't give it the same name. Or even better, they could give us the option of making an already created public channel private.
Please fix this ASAP. Users with elevated rights create problems you should be aware of. You leave non-tech managers with no ability to name channels the way they wish. Tech staff are hands tied.
MS Lover commented
Hi, maybe you can give us 2 options when deleting a Channel or Team.
1. Delete immediately without the chance to restore it
2. Delete and move it to Trash so we can restore it after 30 or 90 days etc...
If MS can give us the option to see all channel names in the trash and we have the option to delete the channels in the Trash ourselves, then we can create a new channel with the same name immediately instead of waiting for 30+ days.
By this way, we can easily manage our channels due to the fact that currently there is no way to switch channels between public and private. See thread here https://microsoftteams.uservoice.com/forums/555103-public/suggestions/38974249-make-public-channel-private
For instance, if we want to delete a Public channel name MARKETING and create a new Private channel with the same name MARKETING, then we don't have to wait for 30+ days before we can create a new MARKETING channel with the same name. Cos we Teams admin have more control of how we wanted the TEAMS system will be managed and operated within our own Organization instead of relying upon the Default TEAMS system which Microsoft gave us.
What about using number ID for the channel as a reference?
Let say each channel has its own channel ID.
In this way we can create 2 or more channels that have the same name MARKETING, every time we create a new MARKETING channel, the system knows that it has a different ID number. It's the same process as personal ID, there are many persons in the US have the name Bill Gate, but each of them has its own personal ID :)
Joacim Svensson commented
The status is incorrect as far as I can see. I can still restore channels that were deleted over two years ago and the channel names are blocked. LOOOONG after the channel is deleted.
Michael Haggerty commented
The idea of restoring up to 30 days is great and that falls inline with SharePoint rules when it comes to the recycle bin. However, I believe that it would be best if there were an option to reuse the name once it has been deleted before the 30 days. An example of why this process may not work for everyone. If I create a channel as I am testing something out or if I create a channel and delete it due to an error or issue, then it would be nice to have to ability to reuse the name immediately. It is an inconvenience to have to create another channel with a different name, then wait the 30 days to create another channel with a different name in order to use the old name. That process is not user friendly.
Ryan Adler commented
It's crazy that Warren (or other MS crew) haven't updated this.
Chukwu Isdore commented
This post was helpful. it solved my need perfectly
This is an absolute pain. Do Microsoft have any plans to sort this?
I understand that I can restore a channel if it was deleted in the last 30 days, that's all fine. But what happens in a channel was deleted a long time ago (> 1year). How am I now meant to be able to use that channel name?
It's ridiculous that I can never use the channel name again!
László Szönyi commented
Sorry, but this is a mess. I have deleted a channel long time ago and the channel name is blocked since then. Cannot restore it either. Furthermore, renaming a Channel does not rename the Folder under SharePoint. So in case I want to reorganize the Channels (e.g. by adding some numbers to each) the directories under SharePoint will not follow the structure. In case I want to reorganize the directories under SharePoint (e.g. by adding some numbers to each) Teams will not show my documents anymore as the Channels are linked to SharePoint Folders by their old names.
PLEASE do not block names for which no Channels in Teams and no Folders in SharePoint exist anymore.
PLEASE provide us the option to update the link of Channels to SharePoint Folders manually under Channel Management in Teams. Teams should list all existing SharePoint Folders of a specific Team and the admin should be able to manually repair broken links (caused by renaming folders in SharePoint).
Thanks in advance.
Same issue. Channel was deleted over 30 days ago and we really need to add it back. FRUSTRATING!
Martin Felcman commented
@Warren Channel deleted 200 days ago. Still "Channel name is already taken." message appears.
Ed Haynes commented
Same issue here, if the channel was deleted more than 30 days ago we still can't re-use the channel name nor can we restore the channel!
Micky Thompson commented
Your statement that "After the 30 days, the name is available." is inaccurate. Actually, Microsoft Teams even lists this as being a known issue on the webpage https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoftteams/known-issues as of November 8, 2018. It states the following:
Issue Title: Users can't recreate a pre-existing channel name
Behavior / Symptom: Once a channel name has been created, even if it's deleted, it cannot be recreated. Our system maintains this data for information protection scenarios.
Known workaround: No workaround.
Discovery date: 3/13/17
We are experiencing this now as we created a channel named 'Wrike' and have since deleted it months ago. Now we need to recreate a channel named 'Wrike' but Microsoft Teams says the name already exists.
Do you agree Warren you should update your 'Try This Instead' posted on 10/18/2018 to disclose there is still a known issue when reusing a channel name as described by Microsoft and that your statement that 'After the 30 days, the name is available.' is not always accurate?
I have the same issues as Andrew Close
1. I had deleted a channel months ago - but cannot reuse the name.
2. I now have deleted a channel which I want to restore, but it is not listed under the "Deleted" channels - still within the 30 day restore timeframe.
How to get the channel back?
By the way - deleting the team isn't necessarily a solution if you want to preserve a clean URL of the underlying sharepoint site. For example, if you delete a team with the name Finance and create a new team named Finance, the sharepoint URL will be ../sites/finance2/etc which isn't very intuitive and could lead to confusion.
We are also unable to rename a channel with a name used months ago. The 30 day threshold doesn't appear to be working correctly. The channel renaming issue is a big problem for us and I would think any other organisation – the normal ebb and flow of decisions around naming conventions often leads to trial and error, hence I am surprised the name of a channel isn’t abstracted from the unique identifier of the channel.
Andrew Close commented
Note that I also tried the restore and rename option but there are 0 channels listed under "Deleted".
Andrew Close commented
I have a Channel called "Personnel" that I deleted months and months ago however, I still cannot reuse the name. There appears to be a bug in the 30-day freeing up of these names.
Peter Bech-Lutzka commented
Thanks for clarifying. It makes sense but should be explained in the delete dialog within Teams.