Re-using the same Channel Name
After you create a channel, then choose to delete the channel, you can no longer create a NEW channel with the same name. It seems like you have to delete the team and start over.
Updating the status to “Try this instead” and have added the clarification that after 30 days the name is once again available.
The reason for this decision was that Channels can be restored 30 days after being deleted. During this time, we intentionally don’t support creating a channel with the same name. After the 30 days, the name is available.
You can workaround this by restoring a deleted channel, renaming it, and then deleting the channel again. The previous name is then available for use.
This workaround has already been mentioned in the comments and if an immediate reuse of a Channel Name is required, this is the recommended solution.
If I send the folder the folder C:\Example to the recycle bin in Windows, nothing stops me from creating a new C:\Example folder even though the old folder hasn't been permanently deleted. Microsoft could have said "We intentionally don't support creating a folder with the same name until the old folder is permanently deleted because something would break if the older folder was restored" but instead they realized that this is a frequent use-case and adjusted their code to made it work.
Make it work Microsoft, our users shouldn't be limited by the lack of a feature that Microsoft already figured out how to make work in Windows decades ago.
It'd be preferable to have deleted channels be automatically renamed on the back end to enable new channels to be created with their original names. Perhaps could have some kind of GUID appended to it? Or as a hidden attribute?
Then, if a deleted channel needs to be restored, the user should be prompted in the case that the channel name is taken. User could select a new name for the restored channel.
Managing associated files on SharePoint may be trickier. The way the SharePoint folders currently work is not all that great, though. It's annoying that renaming a channel does not rename the underlying SharePoint folder -- this creates a mismatch between the Channel name and the Folder name which is inherently confusing.
Again, prompting the user when renaming a Channel if the new name is already taken (either by existing Channel or existing Folder) would be preferable to not auto-renaming the folder.
Michael Eder commented
That workaround worked perfectly for me! Thanks for sharing, Warren!
I've found a workaround:
1. Restore deleted channel ***
2. Rename it to "*** DELETED"
3. Delete the channel *** DELETED
4. Create a new Channel with name ***
You're welcome :)
Echoing a comment below, as I have the exact same issue: "Your "Try this instead" only works if the channel actually deleted after 30 days. We have deleted channels that got deleted years ago and are still showing in the "Deleted Channel" section of the team. We cannot restore them, cannot hard delete them, and thus cannot create a new channel with the same name." ----- Please assist!
In my case, I created a channel that I wanted to be a private channel, forgot to do that during creation, realized there's no option to change a channel to private once it's been created. So I deleted the channel so I could recreate it as a private channel but can't. I realize there is another suggestion to allow channels to be changed to private after they are created, but it doesn't help me know. Know I need to come up with some other channel name.
Allan R commented
Agree with most other comments - the work-around for this is cumbersome and should not be necessary. Just allow easier reuse of channel names.
Jim Scott commented
How about allowing an administrator the ability to permanently delete the conflicting channel that is sitting in deleted queue instead of having to wait for 30 days? This would fix all sorts of additional issues like cannot have more than 30 private channels which includes those that have been deleted in the last 30 days. Or cannot exceed 200 standard channels which again includes those that have been deleted in the last 30 days.
I get the benefit of not really deleting a channel and sending it to a deleted queue that can be undone, however give someone the ability to permanently delete the channel from the deleted queue without having to wait 30 days and you solve this issue.
how can I restore the deleted channel ?
Your workaround works for PUBLIC channels, but how do I do the same for a PRIVATE channel?
… and if you happen to need to rename it again (after 30+ days) to the name that you have renamed it into before deleting, you're screwed.
Jim Scott commented
Great to see there is a work around, how about adding something to the channel name when someone deletes a channel to help make it unique and unlikely to clash with the previously deleted channel name?
Use Case: I have a channel named get-help and I decide to delete it. Teams deletes and renames it get-help-DELETED.
Ed Hansberry commented
Your "Try this instead" only works Warren if the channel actually deletes after 30 days. We have deleted channels that were deleted 2 years ago (2017) and are still showing in the "Deleted Channel" section of the team. We cannot restore them, cannot hard delete them, and thus cannot create a new channel with the same name.
Blake Duffey commented
Don't agree with this 'try this instead' - created a channel, deleted it once the private channel feature became available, created a new private channel with similar name. 30 days have passed and now it no longer appears in the 'Deleted' list. But when I try to rename the private channel to the original name, I get "Channel name is already taken."
Gretchen Dietz commented
I hope they revisit this given that you can't change a public channel to a private channel without recreating it. So now if I delete the public channel to make it private, I can't give it the same name. Or even better, they could give us the option of making an already created public channel private.
Please fix this ASAP. Users with elevated rights create problems you should be aware of. You leave non-tech managers with no ability to name channels the way they wish. Tech staff are hands tied.
MS Lover commented
Hi, maybe you can give us 2 options when deleting a Channel or Team.
1. Delete immediately without the chance to restore it
2. Delete and move it to Trash so we can restore it after 30 or 90 days etc...
If MS can give us the option to see all channel names in the trash and we have the option to delete the channels in the Trash ourselves, then we can create a new channel with the same name immediately instead of waiting for 30+ days.
By this way, we can easily manage our channels due to the fact that currently there is no way to switch channels between public and private. See thread here https://microsoftteams.uservoice.com/forums/555103-public/suggestions/38974249-make-public-channel-private
For instance, if we want to delete a Public channel name MARKETING and create a new Private channel with the same name MARKETING, then we don't have to wait for 30+ days before we can create a new MARKETING channel with the same name. Cos we Teams admin have more control of how we wanted the TEAMS system will be managed and operated within our own Organization instead of relying upon the Default TEAMS system which Microsoft gave us.
What about using number ID for the channel as a reference?
Let say each channel has its own channel ID.
In this way we can create 2 or more channels that have the same name MARKETING, every time we create a new MARKETING channel, the system knows that it has a different ID number. It's the same process as personal ID, there are many persons in the US have the name Bill Gate, but each of them has its own personal ID :)
Joacim Svensson commented
The status is incorrect as far as I can see. I can still restore channels that were deleted over two years ago and the channel names are blocked. LOOOONG after the channel is deleted.
Michael Haggerty commented
The idea of restoring up to 30 days is great and that falls inline with SharePoint rules when it comes to the recycle bin. However, I believe that it would be best if there were an option to reuse the name once it has been deleted before the 30 days. An example of why this process may not work for everyone. If I create a channel as I am testing something out or if I create a channel and delete it due to an error or issue, then it would be nice to have to ability to reuse the name immediately. It is an inconvenience to have to create another channel with a different name, then wait the 30 days to create another channel with a different name in order to use the old name. That process is not user friendly.
Ryan Adler commented
It's crazy that Warren (or other MS crew) haven't updated this.